Student Council

Fall 2023


Dear Middle School Students,

Are you interested in serving as a representative for your class in the Mater Dolorosa Student Council?

Representatives of the Student Council must meet the following criteria to be considered:

  • Maintain a minimum of a C average in all classes from prior year (Also NO Ds/Fs)
  • Consistently Make-up any missed classwork
  • Consistently have all homework assignments turned in on time
  • Have an exemplary attendance and disciplinary record in the main office

In addition, representatives should also practice good citizenship, scholarship, and leadership.


The Student Council will be composed of the following:

Grade 5 will have (2) representatives

Grade 6 will have (3) representatives

Grade 7 will have (3) representatives

Grade 8 will have (4) representatives
(Note: If a grade doesn’t fill its allotted slots, we may use that slot to allow another student to join in their stead.)


To be considered for this leadership role, you will need to submit an essay considering this prompt:

I feel I would make an excellent student council representative because…..

Your essay will need to be typed and reflect a spirit of cooperation, respect, leadership, and excellence.

Each candidate’s essay will be anonymously evaluated by a Mater Dolorosa (non-middle school) teacher.
Representatives will then be nominated by their teacher and then approved by Mrs. Fedora, in conjunction with Mr. Wood and Mrs. Forest.

Please submit your essay by Tuesday, September 19th.
The Mater Dolorosa Student Council will be announced on Friday September 22nd.

The first student council meeting will be held after school from 2:30-3:30 on Tuesday, September 26th in Mr. Wood’s classroom.


Mr. Wood and Mrs. Forest